RSS

What to Read Wednesday with Chelsey Krause author of Can’t Always Get What You Want ~Giveaway

28 Jan

YAY~it’s time for another round of What to Read Wednesday! Please help me welcome author Chelsey Krause to the blog. She’s talking about where ideas for stories come from (one of the most asked questions, I think, authors receive). I think you’ll enjoy her post. Afterward, take a look at her release Can’t Always Get What You Want. Just the title alone makes me want to learn more. And the cover…L O V E  I T!!

And, don’t forget to check out her wonderful giveaway! The link is at the end of the post 🙂

Take it away Chelsey…

Can't-Always-Get-What-You-Want-Chelsey-Krause

Where Do Your Ideas Come From?
By, Chelsey Krause

Have you ever read something and it made you wonder, “Where did the author get the idea from?”
To me, most stories can be summed up by asking “what if.”
What if you died, and five people were waiting in heaven to explain your life to you? What if you hit your head, and woke up married to a hot gazillionaire and had your dream job? What if your “perfect” new life wasn’t everything it seemed?
All of these “what if” questions come from somewhere.
Let’s examine the “what if” behind two of my favorite books: “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins, and “Fight Club” by Chuck Palahniuk.
Suzanne Collins, author of “The Hunger Games” trilogy, says that the idea came to her while watching tv.
“I was channel surfing between reality TV programming and actual war coverage when Katniss’ story came to me,” Collins said. “On one channel there’s a group of young people competing [in reality programming] … and on the next, there’s a group of young people fighting an actual war. And I was tired, and the lines began to blur in this very unsettling way, and I thought of this story.”
Read the full interview here: http://uinterview.com/news/author-suzanne-collins-reveals-hunger-games-inspiration/
Interesting, eh?
And now, “Fight Club,” by Chuck Palahniuk.
Chuck Palahniuk wrote “Fight Club” on a boring afternoon at work. He came up with eight rules for a club where you could essentially go and fight.
In the “afterword” portion of “Fight Club,” Chuck writes that at the time, he had a black eye, and no one asked him about it (which struck him as odd). He’d recently seen a documentary about street gangs, and how they were really just young men who had been raised without fathers, and were trying to build a masculine identity. At the same time, book stores will filled with “clubby” type books for women. The Joy Luck Club. How to Make an American Quilt.
There were no such books for men.
And so, on this quiet afternoon at work, with nothing but the spark of an idea, he wrote a seven page short story (which is now chapter 6 of Fight Club).
If you want to learn more about how this short story transformed into a cult classic, then I highly recommend this free podcast on iTunes. https://itunes.apple.com/ca/podcast/fight-club-15th-anniversary/id426840843?i=330581924&mt=2

For me (and for most writers, I’m sure), a story never comes from a single idea. Rather, it’s the merging of several ideas. And the more compelling the “what if” question, the better the story.
Now, consider for a moment. What if your favorite author let their ideas slip away?
What if they forgot about it, and never wrote the book that you love?
Writers aren’t the only people who have thoughts like these.
People have ideas like this every day. They see something and go, “Hey, wouldn’t it be weird if…..” or “Wouldn’t it be cool if….”
But most people don’t do anything with them. They just go about their day, and a potentially brilliant thought is gone.
Ideas can come from anywhere. Everyday life. A conversation you overhear. News headlines. Dreams.
Follow your ideas! Let them combine and morph into a completely new question.
And I can’t stress the next point enough.
Write your ideas down.
Even if you think they’re dumb.
Take a pen and paper everywhere. Email ideas to yourself. Keep notes on your phone. Whatever it takes.
And secondly: Surround yourself with positivity. To paraphrase an idea from Kevin Smith, it’s important to surround yourself with “Why not.”
(And yes, I mean that Kevin Smith. The “Jay and Silent Bob” Kevin Smith. Don’t judge me).
You can hear him talk about it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nAb6X73HRgM
(Beware. He loves f-bombs.)
If you have an idea for a book or a new invention or painting or whatever, most people are bound to ask, “Why?” Or, “Why you? Why do that? Why try?”
The trick is to ask yourself, “Why not?”
Isn’t that a powerful concept?
So go out there. Ask “what if” and “why not.” Pursue your dreams, ask others what inspired them. Because an idea can come from anywhere. The only thing that matters is what you do with it.

– Chelsey

 

Can't Always Get What You Want

Can’t Always Get What You Want
By: Chelsey Krause
Releasing January 13th, 2015
Loveswept

Blurb

Fans of Ruthie Knox, Rachel Gibson, and Molly O’Keefe will love this deeply romantic and uplifting debut novel about losing everything you thought you wanted—and getting exactly what you need.

Sophie Richards has been looking forward to a much-needed girls’ night out: a Rolling Stones tribute-band concert, a few drinks, a distraction from her grueling nursing shifts in acute care. But when her best friend bails, Sophie gets stuck with a blind date.

Although Brett Nicholson may be the hottest carpenter alive, and Sophie may technically be single, she isn’t exactly on the market. Six years ago she found The One. He was everything Sophie dreamed a man could be—and then she lost him. In an instant, her whole life changed, and she forgot all about happily ever after.

But as she gets to know Brett, Sophie starts to wonder about the future for the first time. With a broken heart still clouding her mind, jumping into a new relationship feels impossible. When she’s in his arms, walking away feels even harder. Now Sophie faces an impossible choice: living in the past or choosing love in the here and now.

Link to Follow Tour: http://www.tastybooktours.com/2014/11/cant-always-get-what-you-want-by.html
Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23256189-can-t-always-get-what-you-want?from_search=true

Buy Links Amazon | Barnes | iBooks | Kobo
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Cant-Always-Get-What-Want-ebook/dp/B00NRQWAT8/ref=sr_1_sc_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1413206012&sr=1-1-spell&keywords=cant%27t+always+get+what+you+wan
B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/cant-always-get-what-you-want-chelsey-krause/1120377343?ean=9781101883624
iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/cant-always-get-what-you-want/id921351761?mt=11
Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/can-t-always-get-what-you-want

Author Info

I was born and raised in Canada, and live with my husband and two children. I’ve been a nurse since 2009. An essay I wrote on intercultural nursing has been published in a nursing anthology.
I love thrift shops, repurposing old junk and learning new belly dance moves. I can’t decide if my favorite movie is either “Bridget Jones’ Diary” or “Fight Club.”
I’ve always wanted to be a writer and in the spring of 2013, I finally sat down and wrote my first book. Now that that’s done, I’m working on my second.
I believe that the best way to become a great writer is to read.

A lot.
And then read some more.
I absolutely love books and would live at the library if they’d let me.

Chelsey Krause

Author Links: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads
Website: http://www.chelseykrause.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ChelseyKrauseAuthor
Twitter: https://twitter.com/chachack2
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8583948.Chelsey_Krause

~~~GIVEAWAY~~~GIVEAWAY~~~GIVEAWAY~~~

($25.00 Book Seller eGift Card and Loveswept Mug & Tote)

***CLICK HERE TO ENTER***

Advertisements
 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 28, 2015 in What to Read Wednesday

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “What to Read Wednesday with Chelsey Krause author of Can’t Always Get What You Want ~Giveaway

  1. ChristineWarner

    January 28, 2015 at 8:28 am

    Thank you so much for coming on the blog Chelsey. Best of luck with your book…and congrats on your beautiful cover 🙂

     
  2. Tasty Book Tours

    January 28, 2015 at 2:14 pm

    Thank you for hosting today! Great Post! Chelsey is so cool!

     

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: