RSS

SPECIAL GUEST ~ Tina Wainscott author of Falling Fast ~ GIVEAWAY

29 Jun

Today we have author Tina Wainscott joining us on the blog. She’s talking second chances and sharing her latest release Falling Fast. Loving the blurb, and of course more cover love for this book. 

Afterward check out Tina’s giveaway. The link to enter is at the end of the post 🙂

Take it away Tina…

fallingfast-banner

Loving a Second Chance at Romance

 

Who doesn’t love a second chance? Sheryl Larson, a reader, said, “I do love them. It’s about redemption, reconciliation, reconnecting with their long lost love that for whatever reason got away or they pushed away.” Another reader, Jade Elyzabeth, said, “I love them because it gives those of us who mess up a heart warming feeling that things could still work out and that the people who love us could forgive our mistakes.” Jenni Dinh, of Bitten by Love Reviews, wrote an article on second chances, which ends with: “Are we strong enough to take on this feeling that got put on the back burner years ago? Has he changed? Has she changed? What kind of person he/she is now? If we had stuck together, what would have become of us? The questions will all be answered — you just have to take a leap of faith and let yourself fall in love again.” (http://romanceatrandom.com/love-is-sweeter-the-second-time-around/)

 

The first book I ever read that featured a second chance plot was Danielle Steele’s The Promise. A couple getting married despite the wealthy hero’s family’s objections get into a terrible accident that disfigures her. While some unlikely plot twists separate them, I loved the anticipation of that moment when they would be reunited.

 

I actually thought, when I trolled through my thirty books, that I’d find a bunch of second chance themes. Only six! But a future Justiss book and the next two Falling Fast novels will also feature second chance at love plots. And a couple of books I never ended up publishing also featured second chance plots.

 

A lot of the appeal is that many of us have that special someone in their past where it didn’t work out, they moved on … and you always wondered WHAT IF? Maybe you made a huge mistake and pushed them away, broke up, or (eegads!) left them for someone else. Time passes, and the pain heals. Or does it? Maybe it only softens. You fantasize about running into them, feeling that same spark between you. It’s that fantasy that gets us writers going, our imaginations humming away with bits and pieces of a movie in our minds.

 

In Falling Fast, I’ve thrown a few obstacles at our young lovers. Before the book starts, Mia is seventeen and in remission from cancer. She’s come down to Chambliss, Florida, in the Panhandle, on an obligatory family vacation. She’s missed out on a lot in life, and having faced death and the grueling treatments, she feels different from kids her age. She’s determined to make the best of the boring seaside town, so she picks up the car at the garage to take it to the beach. That’s when she meets Raleigh, the sexy mechanic who makes her realize she is, after all, a hormonal, teenage girl. That he doesn’t know about her battle with cancer, that he sees her as totally normal, is awesome. That he invites to her watch him street race is way too tempting. She needs to live. And she does, over the next few weeks, discovering that this bad boy with a tender heart needs her as much as she needs him. She even convinces him to let her ride with him during the races. And then the unimaginable happens: another driver crashes into them, and their car goes up in flames. Mia is severely burned, and her parents take her back to Wisconsin to continue healing—while barring Raleigh from any contact with her.

 

Poor Raleigh has borne the guilt of putting her in danger for seven years, keeping up with Mia vicariously through her grandmother, Nancy. Aching for Mia and believing he doesn’t deserve her. When Nancy dies, she leaves both Raleigh and Mia her house as a way of reuniting two people whom she saw shared a true love. You see, Nancy had a lost love, too, and her story ended sadly. And so Mia and Raleigh have to get her house ready to put on the market, all the while working through the layers of their past—and the true love they still harbor for each other.

 

They still face obstacles, of course. I love those! Their happy ending will be hard won, and hopefully satisfying.

 

I can’t think of one boyfriend I regretted letting go (though I can think of a few guys I regretted dating, LOL!). But I do wonder about a few of them: Where did they end up? How are they doing? Is there someone you regretted parting ways with?

FALLING FAST

Falling Fast
Falling Fast # 1  

By: Tina Wainscott

Releasing June 16, 2015

Loveswept

 

Blurb

Fans of Jasinda Wilder and Colleen Hoover will adore this emotional new small-town romance—a smoldering tale of first love and long-awaited redemption from USA Today bestselling author Tina Wainscott. 

Raleigh West works in an auto shop day and night, trying to put his broken past out of mind. It’s been seven years since the fiery crash that landed his teenage sweetheart in the hospital . . . and him in jail. In an instant, he lost everything: his passion for racing, his hope of escaping his father’s shameful legacy, and the only girl he ever loved. Raleigh hasn’t seen her since that awful night. Never got a chance to apologize. And never forgave himself, either.

When brave, beautiful Mia Wentworth returns to the Florida coast for the first time in what seems like forever, it’s not to see Raleigh. Even so, the moment she arrives she can feel his presence like a gust of wind that gives her goose bumps. Opening her heart to him again seems impossible. But staying away? That might be harder still. Lucky for them both, Mia’s never been the kind of woman to take the easy way out.

 EXCERPT

He needed to drive by Nancy’s cottage one more time. Maybe sit out on the deck and remember the times they had shared lasagna after he’d been painting all day or refinishing her wood floors. That was the only payment he accepted, her home-cooked meals and her friendship.

He pulled down the gravel road that housed five cottages built in the sixties. One of them was in the process of being torn down, no doubt to be replaced by something shiny and new. The small Panhandle town didn’t boast wide, sugar-sand beaches. The scrubland in this area, with its sea-grass-covered dunes, hadn’t been developed as it had farther west. But, with the economy recovering, Chambliss was now seeing the results of the dredging project begun years ago.

As he neared Nancy’s home, his heartbeat spiked at the sight of two cars parked out front, lights blazing inside. Mia and her parents, he bet. They’d probably just arrived, given the luggage in the open trunk. He paused, even though he knew that he should back up and leave.

Like now.

Except he couldn’t, because the front door opened and a woman stepped out. His heart tripped and coughed and gasped like a gunked-up carburetor. Mia. Her dark-brown hair was piled up on her head, loose strands framing her face. She stepped off the front porch and out of the light, but in that brief glimpse he could see her tired, sad expression as she headed toward the open trunk. Which would put her only a few yards away from his car.

He still couldn’t lift his foot from the brake pedal. His windows were tinted, so she wouldn’t see him. He couldn’t see her as well, either, but he saw enough as she hefted out the black suitcase. Now his heart was racing, seventy, eighty, a hundred miles an hour. She wore a red top, one sleeve drooping off her shoulder, and shorts. Still trim and long in the torso. Still about five- five. It was her face, what he could see of it in the distant lighting, that gripped him. In this light, as beautiful as ever. Memories flashed through his mind like a slide show: her laughing; smiling shyly; closing her eyes and arching as she came beneath him. Whispering his name, her fingers digging into his back.

She looked up then, her gaze zeroing in on his car. Her eyebrows furrowed, and she tilted her head in the way he’d seen a hundred times. Something inside him screamed to lower the window and say something. Hello. How are you? I’m so sorry . . .

She turned to glance behind her, where her father was coming down the steps. Raleigh hit the gas and shot forward to the end of the lane, where he had to pry his fingers from the steering wheel to put the car into park. He was shaking.

Dammit, he’d almost screwed up. Talking to her would only dredge up a painful past for Mia. Maybe her anger, too. Her father would have blown a gasket. Mia didn’t deserve to suffer anymore over him.

He forced himself to breathe normally and pull around the small cul-de-sac. As he passed Nancy’s cottage, he vowed that he wouldn’t look. But he couldn’t help it. Everyone was inside, the cars closed up. He told himself it was for the better. That maybe he shouldn’t attend the funeral after all. How the hell was he going to handle seeing her without a tinted window and the night between them?

Link to Follow Tour:  http://www.tastybooktours.com/2015/03/falling-fast-falling-fast-1-by-tina.html

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23510311-falling-fast?ac=1

Goodreads Series Link:  https://www.goodreads.com/series/147390-falling-fast

 

Buy Links:  Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo 

 

 

Author Info

USA Today bestselling author Tina Wainscott has always loved the combination of romance and suspense, because nothing complements falling in love better than being hunted down. The author of more than thirty novels and novellas, Wainscott creates characters with baggage, past hurts, and vulnerabilities. They go through hell, find love, and, at the end, find peace in who they are and everything they’ve gone through. And isn’t that what everyone wants?

Tina_W

Author Links:  Website | Facebook | Twitter Goodreads

~~~GIVEAWAY~~~GIVEAWAY~~~GIVEAWAY~~~

*Loveswept is hosting a Month Long Giveaway including Loveswept Mug, Flirt Mug and Select Ebook Bundle*

***CLICK HERE TO ENTER***

Advertisements
 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 29, 2015 in Blitz/Bonanza Spotlights

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “SPECIAL GUEST ~ Tina Wainscott author of Falling Fast ~ GIVEAWAY

  1. ChristineWarner

    June 29, 2015 at 5:12 am

    Hi Tina! Thank you for joining me on the blog. I absolutely love your book cover and enjoyed the blurb and excerpt. Best of luck with Falling Fast 🙂

     
  2. Tina Wainscott

    June 29, 2015 at 9:55 am

    Thank you, Christine! Awesome of you to have me here today!

     
  3. Tasty Book Tours

    June 29, 2015 at 11:21 am

    Thank you for hosting Tina and FALLING FAST!

     

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: