RSS

What to Read Wednesday with Maggie McGinnis author of Once Upon a Cowboy ~ GIVEAWAY

15 Jul

It’s time for another What to Read Wednesday! Please help me welcome Maggie McGinnis to the blog. Maggie is talking about what she’d try on for size if she could freeze the world for two weeks. Afterward, check out her latest release Once Upon A Cowboy. Don’t you love the title? And don’t you love the cover? Then you’re going to definitely love the blurb and excerpt 🙂

Don’t forget to enter her giveaway, too. The link is at the end of the post.

Take it away Maggie…

OUC

I Wanna be a Cowgirl

 

You know that question you get sometimes—the one that goes something like “If you weren’t an XXX, what would you be?” I have a hard time answering, because let’s face it. I’m pretty happy with exactly the life I have.

However … maybe if I could just freeze the world for a couple of weeks while I went off and explored additional options, I could totally get behind the possibilities.

Was I meant to actually be challenging Danica Patrick in next season’s NASCAR circuit? I’d love to get behind the wheel and try it! Is there an Olympic downhill ski racer hidden somewhere deep down inside? Could be, right? How about a singer on a Nashville stage? I could totally see that … because the talent would be built into the fantasy, right?

In the end, though, I really think I’d find my place somewhere in Montana, under huge blue skies, on a beautiful horse. I’d have great boots, a fabulous hat, and a stable full of gorgeous horses. I’d pack fried chicken picnics in my saddlebags and ride to secret waterfalls.  I’d have lots of sunshine, a view of the mountains, and a posse of gal-pals to share margaritas with on Friday nights.

And of course, I’d totally meet the cowboy of my dreams. He’d be gorgeous and sweet and strong and amazing, and we’d live happily ever after in a log cabin on a mountainside because, well, that’s how fantasies work.

But when it was all over, I’d pack up my Stetson and my boots and head back to my sweet house, kiss my fabulous husband, and hug my little ones hard.

After all, any fantasy I could come up with doesn’t come close to matching the one I already have.

So tell me … if you could freeze reality for two weeks and go play at something else, what would YOU do?

 

OUAC_cover

Once Upon a Cowboy
Whisper Creek # 1

By: Maggie McGinnis

Releasing June 30, 2015

Loveswept

Blurb

In this sexy Whisper Creek romance for readers of Kristan Higgins, Susan Mallery, and Molly O’Keefe, a red-hot cowboy uses some Montana magic to give a reclusive beauty her happily ever after. 

Yoga instructor Jessalyn Alcott radiates peace, calm, and serenity—on the outside. Inside, she still feels like the broken, desperate girl from the trailer park. She’s got dark secrets she can’t share, which is why she never lets her relationships go beyond the third date. But when she travels to the Whisper Creek dude ranch for a friend’s wedding, Jess is enchanted by a cowboy whose deep blue eyes, dimpled smile, and rock-hard body make it tough to remember why she keeps running scared.

Cole Driscoll has struggled to find his place on a family ranch where he’s always played second fiddle. His future might be uncertain, but he’s sure of one thing: He wants Jess by his side. Easier said than done. When it comes to getting close, she’s full of excuses, and he longs to fix the hurt he sees in her eyes. Now that she’s at Whisper Creek, there’s nothing he wants more than to break down the walls around her heart and heal her pain with the power of love.

 Link to Follow Tour:  http://www.tastybooktours.com/2015/03/once-upon-cowboywhisper-creek-3-by.html

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23395415-once-upon-a-cowboy?ac=1

Goodreads Series Link: https://www.goodreads.com/series/145426-whisper-creek

EXCERPT

JULY 25, THIRTEEN YEARS AGO

She’d always imagined a gun would make a louder sound, especially on a sticky summer night with only the crickets as competition. But it was more of a pop—like a kids’ toy rather than a lethal weapon—as Billy aimed it at the cashier and pulled the trigger.

Wait in the car, he’d said. I’m gonna get Old Man Mack to sell me some beer.

So she’d sat in the passenger seat, eyes glued on the store’s plate glass front window, figuring the worst he was going to do was pull his charming I-forgot-my-ID act.

Her hand went to her mouth as Mack grabbed his own chest, spun, and then fell behind the counter. She felt blindly for the car door handle as she watched Billy scoop bills from the cash drawer, but she couldn’t get out fast enough. She heard a strangled sound that must have come from her as he came flying out of the store carrying a case of Bud and the money.

He wrenched open the driver’s door and tossed the case toward her, then gunned the engine before he had his door fully closed. Gravel spit out behind them as he swung onto the pavement and shot the car toward downtown, and she couldn’t seem to take a whole breath as she watched the rearview mirror.

“That was Mack.” Her voice came out in a whisper. “You just shot . . . Mack.”

“You know him?” Billy looked over at her, then grabbed her knee. Hard. “Mack shoulda let me have the beer, princess.”

He squeezed harder, making her wince. “You didn’t see nothing, you got that?”

“God, Billy. We need to call the police. He needs an ambulance.” She didn’t dare crane her neck to look out the back window, but couldn’t get the sight of Mack crumpling behind the counter out of her head.

Billy let out a short, maniacal laugh that made her cringe. “People need to learn who’s in charge around here, princess. Sometimes you gotta teach hard lessons, you know?”

Oh, she knew, all right. Mack wasn’t the only one Billy was trying to teach lately. She felt for the door handle again, but the speedometer was holding steady at forty. Leave it to Billy to shoot a guy cold, then obey the speed limit all the way back to his apartment. She dug her fingernails into her palm, desperate to be out of this car—desperate to be as far away from Billy as possible.

She’d had her breakup speech memorized for three weeks now, but still hadn’t had the courage to deliver it. And now? She shivered, scared to her very core. If Billy’d shoot Mack over a case of beer, what would he do to her if she tried to cut him loose?

“We can’t just leave him there, Billy. What if he—dies?” Her voice cracked as she pictured Mack handing her a piece of bubble gum every Saturday when Grampy used to bring her in for a root beer and a scratch ticket.

“Who we gonna call, princess? The po-lice?” He drew out the word like it amused him. Billy looked over at her again, and she shrank toward the door. “We need to have a little talk about this?”

“No.” Their last little talk had left her with a bag of frozen peas on her ribs and a headache that didn’t go away for a week. She took a catchy breath. “No little talk.”

“Good.” He nodded, pointing toward the case on her lap. “Crack me one of those brews, wouldja? I think I earned it.”

 

Buy Links:  Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo | Publisher

 

Author Info

Maggie McGinnis, USA Today Bestselling Author of Accidental Cowgirl and Driving Without a License, which was a finalist for Romance Writers of America’s Golden Heart Award is a former high school English teacher, an accomplished musician, and a certified black belt, who lives in New England with her family.

Maggie

Author Links: Website Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

~~~GIVEAWAY~~~GIVEAWAY~~~GIVEAWAY~~~GIVEAWAY~~~

*Loveswept is hosting a Month Long Giveaway including Loveswept Mug, Flirt Mug and Select Ebook Bundle*

***CLICK HERE TO ENTER***

Advertisements
 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 15, 2015 in What to Read Wednesday

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “What to Read Wednesday with Maggie McGinnis author of Once Upon a Cowboy ~ GIVEAWAY

  1. ChristineWarner

    July 15, 2015 at 5:18 am

    Hi Maggie! Thank you for joining me on the blog. I love your cover 🙂

     
  2. Tasty Book Tours

    July 15, 2015 at 11:44 am

    Thank you for hosting Maggie and ONCE UPON A COWBOY!

     

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: