RSS

What to Read Wednesday with Charlotte Stein author of Never Loved ~ Giveaway

22 Jul

Thanks for coming back for another round of What to Read Wednesday! Please help me welcome author Charlotte Stein to the blog. She’s sharing her typical writing day as well as her latest release Never Loved!

Afterward, don’t forget to enter her wonderful giveaway! The link is at the end of the post 🙂

Take it away Charlotte…

NL

My Typical Writing Day

 

  1. I usually begin by eating something. If I am five minutes from deadline this something is a handful of cheese and ten tons of chocolate. If I have lots of time, it might be a bagel or even some scrambled eggs!
  2. After the eating comes the long, long death struggle between the Internet, and actually doing some work. Generally, the Internet wins. Some days it has to win, because I need to keep up to date on industry news and talk to readers and things like that. But mostly it’s just me giggling over something Channing Tatum said, or posting pictures of his bottom on Twitter. If you would like more information on his bottom, you can find it here: @charlotte_stein
  3. Then comes the long death struggle between me and Hay Day. I should really never have downloaded Hay Day. Please, if you’re out there, and you need to get things done at any point ever in your life, avoid that nightmarish hell plague of a game like you would avoid…a…nightmarish hell plague.
  4. Once all of that is over with it’s normally time for lunch. If I’m on deadline, I eat chewing gum and jelly beans. If I’m not, I don’t eat anything I just play more Hay Day. Seriously how do I stop needing to feed my pigs? They are so hungry all the time. I can hardly bear to let them suffer!
  5. Finally, I get down to work. And then because I’ve procrastinated hours away, I do it until my arms ache and my butt hurts and one eye is twitching scarily.
  6. On a good day, I manage to write around five thousand words. On a terrible day, I write one paragraph and then agonise over it for three days, accept that I have to cut it, go back and rewrite it seven hundred times, and maybe understand where the story should go about a month later.
  7. By which point I am half-dead wreck who hasn’t seen the sun in decades.
  8. And then I do it all over again the next day! Sounds awful I know, but honestly I would not trade it for anything that lets you go to sleep at a normal time for a normal amount of hours. Unless cradling Channing Tatum’s bottom is a legitimate job, in which case how do I apply?

NeverLoved_Cover

Never Loved
Dark Obsession # 1

By: Charlotte Stein

Releasing July 21st, 2015

Loveswept

 

Blurb

Perfect for fans of Abbi Glines, the first novel in the Dark Obsession series tells the story of a beautiful wallflower who falls for a chiseled street fighter—and learns just how dangerous love can be.

Beatrix Becker spent most of her life under the thumb of her controlling, abusive father. And now that she’s free and attending her dream college, she has no idea how to act like the normal crowd: partying, going on dates, even having a conversation. Then she meets Serge Sorensen. Big and surly with a whole host of riotous tattoos, Serge is supposed to scare the hell out of her. But beneath his harsh exterior, Beatrix discovers a kindred spirit who knows what it’s like to be a misfit. Most exhilarating—and terrifying—is what he does for a living: illegal street fighting.

There’s nothing like the rush Serge gets from the intense athleticism and brutal glory of combat—though his chemistry with Beatrix comes close. Slowly at first, he introduces her to his world, where he lives by instinct, passion, and desire. He even helps her out with her equally traumatized brother. But when Serge gets in too deep with the wrong people, he ends up paying in blood. And suddenly, just as Beatrix has been drawn into Serge’s perfectly sculpted arms, she’s thrown once and for all into the fight of his life.

 

 EXCERPT

I know they are the ones I have to speak to. I recognize the guy with the tattoo of a hammer on his biceps, and some of the others look familiar from that bar on Maple Street. I’m pretty sure that’s the guy who pointed Tommy out to me, yet still I hesitate. Of course I hesitate.

They look like such an insane rabble. As I watch through the windscreen of my car, three of them start fighting. One of them pushes another one; the third guy grabs the first by his dirty tank top. Harsh words are exchanged, so fierce and forceful I can almost make out the spittle flying.

Then suddenly there’s a knife. I see its edge gleam in the bright sunlight, about a second before something red appears across the chest of the guy who started it. Blood, I think dizzily. That’s blood. He’s bleeding all over his own T-shirt, and though it isn’t anywhere close to a mortal wound, it doesn’t encourage me to get out of the car.

Nor does the way the fight ends. The one with the knife goes to slash at the other guy again, and I’m just about to cover my eyes with my hand when this enormous man comes out of nowhere. He lashes out with a hand like a shovel, and somehow the knife is on the ground. The brawling men are scattering, as though they were never there at all.

And I understand why.

The big one is pretty terrifying. And obviously everyone else thinks so, too, because they part like butter under a knife before him. He goes back to his bike without anyone so much as brushing his arms, and once there he sits down in a way that gets my attention in a fucking chokehold. I mean, he had it before, but watching the machine balk beneath his weight is something else. It actually seems to sag. I can almost hear its sound of protest.

God knows how he rides the thing. God knows about anything going on here. I try to make a list in my head of all the shenanigans that might be ensuing, but all I can come up with is drug ring. And I’ve got to be honest—I don’t think drug ring is a real thing. It sounds like something my father would have ranted about whenever I asked if I could go anywhere, or do anything, or be out past five in the afternoon.

The drug ring will get you, I think, which would probably be funny if I couldn’t feel his ghost pressing down on my shoulders at the same time. Or if I understood any of this on any level whatsoever. I mean, even if they’re not dealing meth to kids, or about to snatch me and put me in a van, a ton of this stuff is disturbing.

For a start:

Why are they all congregating outside an abandoned convenience store? It’s not even a nice one, with those signs people like to collect and stick up on their walls, or some remnant of civilization still hanging around. It’s an ugly rotten tooth of a place, striped all over with rust streaks and half sagging in the middle.

Yet here they are, milling around in this big odd jumble. Some of them have bikes; some of them have battered cars. Some are dressed in leather and denim; others wander around in mismatched tracksuits. In a couple of cases I spy business-wear, as though the wearers came straight here from an early-morning meeting. This is secretly the abandoned-convenience-store branch of GE, and in a second they’re all going to start funneling funds through accounts in the Caymans.

Or maybe I just hope that’s the case, because now I have to get out of the car.

I have to if I want to find my brother, yet somehow I’m still not doing it. Instead I take out my phone and call the only person who might be able to help me, even if I suspect she won’t be able to help me at all. When I left our dorm room, she was trying to decide if scarves are in or out now, which seems pretty far from this.

I’m not even sure if I should say. But I do anyway.

“Do you know anything about gangs that hang around outside convenience stores?” I ask, bracing myself for all kinds of answers. One time I tried to tell her about my brother and his problems, and she suggested I change my name so I won’t be bothered anymore.

Of course, I couldn’t explain to her why that was ridiculous. Whenever I try, I start doing something silly, like crying uncontrollably. I get this urge to start spilling all my secrets, and most of them barely make any sense. Sometimes I look back on them, and it almost seems as if they happened to another person—one who never had to hide a magazine with a man’s naked chest on it under her mattress, or push every clock in the house back by two minutes so Tommy would be home on time, or fear enclosed spaces in case the next time we never get let out at all.

Those things were just a dream.

This is the reality, where I am a cool and very normal—if slightly older than most freshman—college girl.

Or at least, I will be one soon. All I have to do is get through this latest disaster, and onward to the other side. On the other side is the possibility of being a proper person, a person who is successful at doing the things that everyone else does. I could be more interested in parties and hairstyles and dating, to the point where Sam might actually approve and maybe even remember me.

At the moment, that isn’t happening.

Link to Follow Tour:  http://www.tastybooktours.com/2015/03/never-loved-dark-obsession-1-by.html

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23433442-never-loved?ac=1

Goodreads Series Link:  https://www.goodreads.com/series/139124-dark-obsession

 

Buy Links:  Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo | Publisher

 

Author Info

Charlotte Stein has written over thirty short stories, novellas and novels, including entries in The Mammoth Book of Hot Romance and Best New Erotica 10. Her latest work, Run To You, was recently a DABWAHA finalist. When not writing deeply emotional and intensely sexy books, she can be found eating jelly turtles, watching terrible sitcoms and occasionally lusting after hunks. For more on Charlotte, visit: www.charlottestein.net

 

Author Links:  Website | Facebook | Twitter | GoodReads

~~~GIVEAWAY~~~GIVEAWAY~~~GIVEAWAY~~~

*Loveswept is hosting a Month Long Giveaway including Loveswept Mug, Flirt Mug and Select Ebook Bundle*

***CLICK HERE TO ENTER***

 

Advertisements
 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 22, 2015 in What to Read Wednesday

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “What to Read Wednesday with Charlotte Stein author of Never Loved ~ Giveaway

  1. Tracey.Gee.393

    July 22, 2015 at 9:07 am

    Belated happy book birthday!!

     
    • ChristineWarner

      July 22, 2015 at 12:44 pm

      Thank you so much for coming by Tracey 🙂

       
  2. Jessi Gage

    July 22, 2015 at 12:16 pm

    Charlotte, your day sounds remarkably like mine! Except my time-suck game is Candy Crush Soda. Sigh. I didn’t even START writing last night until it was way past my bedtime!

    But I agree, it’s WORTH IT! Especially when the day includes Chaning Tatum’s bottom.

    Congrats on your new release! I can’t wait to read it!

     
    • ChristineWarner

      July 22, 2015 at 12:44 pm

      OMG Jessi, I had to delete that app because I would get stuck on playing that game for way longer than I care to admit.

      So glad you came by and commented. Thank you.

       
  3. ChristineWarner

    July 22, 2015 at 12:45 pm

    I’m so thrilled to have you on the blog Charlotte! It was great getting to know more about you and I wish you much success with your book 🙂

     
  4. Tasty Book Tours

    July 22, 2015 at 10:55 pm

    Thank you for much for hosting Charlotte today!

     

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: