RSS

Tag Archives: After Midnight

BOOK BLAST ~ After Midnight / Cries in the Night by Kathy Clark ~ Giveaway

Enter to Win a
Loveswept & Flirt Mugs and
Select Ebook Bundle

 

AFTER MIDNIGHT
Denver Heroes Book One
Kathy Clark
Re-Issued June 9th, 2015
Loveswept
Perfect
for fans of Nora Roberts and Karen Robards, Kathy Clark’s suspenseful,
seductive Denver Heroes series kicks off as a dedicated cop and a beautiful
actress get wrapped up in a world of danger and desire.
Aside
from the reporter riding along in the passenger seat of his cruiser, it’s a
typical Saturday night on the job for Sam Morgan of the Denver Police
Department. Then shots ring out, and a routine stop involving a pimp and a
hooker spirals into senseless violence. Now Sam is lying in a hospital bed,
haunted by fleeting memories of the stunning blonde who saved his life—and then
just disappeared.
Kate
McKinney was hired to play a prostitute on a reality-TV show, not stand around
as actual bullets start flying. Unable to shake the feeling that trouble is
stalking her, Kate turns to the only man she can trust: the wounded cop whose
blue eyes send chills through her body. He doesn’t believe she was just playing
a role, but the predator hiding in the shadows is all too real—and, as Sam and
Kate edge closer to the truth, so is the heat that ignites between them.
 
BUY NOW
 

 

CRIES IN THE NIGHT
Denver Heroes Book Two
Kathy Clark
Re-Issued June 9th
Loveswept

 

Fans
of Nora Roberts and Karen Robards will love this pulse-pounding novel of
romantic suspense, as a red-hot firefighter reaches out to save a courageous
beauty from the terrors of the night.
As
a victim’s advocate for the Denver Police Department, Julie Lawrence is always
on call for survivors of abuse, fighting for the justice she never got for
herself. It’s a high-risk job that makes a lot of enemies—one of whom seems to
be now targeting Julie. But teaming up with firefighter and local hero Rusty
Wilson sparks a different kind of danger. As Julie surrenders to intoxicating
passion, she finds herself breaking her own rules, caring about Rusty in a way
she thought she’d sworn off forever.
When
a domestic incident escalates into a deadly hostage crisis, Rusty is willing to
risk everything to protect those who really need his help—like Julie, the
breath of fresh air who fills his days with purpose and his nights with
pleasure. He just hopes he’s not too late to stop a chillingly orchestrated act
of payback that puts the woman he loves at the mercy of a madman’s rage.
 
BUY NOW

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Kathy Clark is a
New York Times bestselling author whose novels have sold more than three
million copies in eleven languages. Her plot lines have always championed
women’s empowerment, placing strong female characters in real-life situations.
Her stories will make you laugh and cry, and her characters will live in your
heart forever. She lives with her husband and co-author, Bob Wernly.
 
 
 

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 8, 2015 in Blitz/Bonanza Spotlights

 

Tags: , , , , ,

What to Read Wednesday

Welcome to What to Read Wednesday!  Thanks to everyone who keeps coming back…you’re all awesome!  And if you’re here for the first time…glad you found us!

Today I’m excited because we have author Sarah Grimm visiting!  Like me, Sarah is a Wild Rose Press author as well as a Michigander, and is going to share a bit about herself and her newest release AFTER MIDNIGHT  So sit back, grab your favorite snack and beverage and enjoy

Hi Sarah, thank you for joining us.  Please share a little bit about yourself so we can get to know you.

Sure. I’m a romantic—a die hard romantic. I believe in love, not just as a fundamental part of human relationships, but as a force that can heal emotional scars. I truly believe there is someone for everyone—the person they are meant to find. Their other half, a soul mate.

I live in West Michigan, along the shore of Lake Michigan, with my husband of 19 years, two teenage sons, three orphaned deer mice, one guinea pig, and three mini schnauzers.

It’s always a treat to meet another author close by.  Name four things you never leave your house without.

Purse, cell phone, paper, and pen.

What’s your favorite time of the day and why?

I love mornings, early mornings when I’m the only one awake. The house is dark, silent, and it’s just me and my three schnauzers, bundled together on the couch while I write.

I enjoy that time of the day too.  Seems I get my best work done.  What genre(s) do you write?

Contemporary romance, and romantic suspense.

Do you find that your words flow easier in the morning, afternoon or night?

Morning. Any other time of day the chance of interruption is too great. When family is talking either directly to me or around me, it’s impossible to hear what the voices in my head are saying. (Yes, writers are a bit crazy. lol)

LOL…that’s the rumor.  Describe your writing space.

I actually don’t have one right now. I used to write on a desktop computer that sat on my kitchen table, but about a month ago that computer died. Until I get a replacement, I sit in my recliner in the living room and write using my son’s laptop.

I hope you get a new computer soon.  It’s nice to have your own space for sure 🙂  Tease us with a blurb!!

Thirteen years—that’s how long Isabeau Montgomery has been living a lie. After an automobile accident took her mother’s life, Izzy hid herself away, surviving the only way she knew how. Now she is happy in her carefully reconstructed life. That is until he walks through the door of her bar…

Black Phoenix singer/front man Noah Clark came to Long Island City with a goal—one that doesn’t include an instant, electric attraction to the dark-haired beauty behind the bar. Coaxing her into his bed won’t be easy, but he can’t get her pale, haunted eyes nor her skill on the piano out of his head.

Can Noah help Isabeau overcome the past? Or will her need to protect her secret force her back into hiding and destroy their chance at happiness?

First off, that cover is awesome and I love your blurb 🙂  If you could live the life of one of your characters, who would it be and why?

The life my character lives when the book starts, or after its completion? Because it definitely makes a difference. I wouldn’t want to live the life any of my characters live at the beginning of my books. I’m cruel to my characters. Downright mean to them. The things I put them through before they get their happily-ever-after—the heartache and loss, the physical suffering—I wouldn’t switch places with any of them.

If I can choose the life a character lives after the stories completion, then it would be Isabeau Montgomery. Why? Who hasn’t dreamt of marrying a rock star? Especially one who’s sexy, patient, and totally committed to you?

I admit it, I’ve had a few dreams about a life like that…lol  Describe your hero using five words.

Noah is: English, blond, sensual, talented, song-writer

Now your heroine.

Isabeau is: A virtuoso, resourceful, wounded, scarred, resilient

Please share an excerpt of your book.

He leaned into her. “If you still want me to stay away from you, you’d better tell me now.”

“Noah?”

“Yeah?”

“Kiss me.”

She didn’t have to ask twice. He dipped his head, settled his lips on hers and plundered. He dragged her against him, and drank in the hot, potent taste of her as he fed on her mouth like a starving man.

She softened, a tiny sound of passion slipping up her throat—an urgent invitation. His pulse leaped. So did other parts of his anatomy. Her fingers burrowed through his hair.

He deepened the kiss, stroking his hands down the sides of her body to settle on her hips. He used them to guide her as he stepped forward once, twice, until her back settled against the trunk of the maple. Awash in the smell of her, the feel of her, he pressed closer, until no space existed between them. Her breasts flattened against his chest, her hips arched into him. Heat from her body flowed into his, sparking a fire. His heartbeat echoed in his head.

I love a good kissing scene…and you got it right with that scene Sarah 🙂  How did you come up with the idea for your story?  The title?

After Midnight is Isabeau’s story. Usually my heroes ‘talk’ to me first, but in this instance I heard Izzy. She just showed up in my head one day, sat down and started a conversation. At first she was all I had – a woman sitting alone in a darkened bar, playing the piano. Then came Noah, the one person who could throw a monkey wrench into her carefully reconstructed life.

After Midnight had a different title when I started it, but it didn’t fit the tone of the story, so I began brainstorming a new one. The light bulb moment happened when I realized that most of the key moments in the book occur late at night. Night… Darkness… Midnight…aha!  There it was.

Sometimes the moment that changes everything comes After Midnight.

I believe we draw from our own personal experiences when writing.  If that’s true, how likely would it be that someone you know, or have met, might be a character, or at least an inspiration for a character in one of your books?

I have a sweatshirt my mother gifted me that reads ‘Careful or you’ll end up in my novel’. It’s funny, and starts a lot of conversations with strangers, but the chances of people actually ending up in my next book are slim to none. I may use character traits of people I know or quirks of people I meet, but that’s as far as it goes.

I want one of those sweatshirts…🙂  What was the hardest part of writing this book? 

Isabeau’s childhood was so tragic all the scenes that dealt with it were extremely hard to write. But the most difficult was the scene where her step-father (for lack of a better name) sits Noah down and tells him about losing Izzy’s mother in the car accident, followed by immediately losing Izzy in a court battle, and how these events shaped Isabeau into the woman she is today.

Emotional scenes take a lot out of you when you’re writing them.  What was the easiest part?

The easiest part of writing the book was the relationship between Noah and his best friend and band mate, Dominic Price. Having had mostly male friends in my lifetime, along with the fact that I live with two teenaged sons and my husband, gives me insight into male friendships and male ‘speak’.

What are you working on now?

While writing After Midnight, one of the secondary characters kept telling me he needed his own story, so I’m writing that one now. Midnight Heat is a reunion romance, and although I had no plans to give Dominic his own book, about half-way through writing After Midnight, I fell so in love with his character I had to make sure he got his own happily-ever-after.

Where do you hope to see your writing career in the next three years?

My goal is to get the next three books in the Midnight Series released: Midnight Heat, Chasing Midnight, and Midnight Shadow. And if one of them helped me make my other goal – the one where I become a ‘NYT Best-Selling Author’ – well, that would be amazing. 🙂

Fingers crossed for you Sarah 🙂  That you again for joining us.  It’s been fun getting to know you and learn about your work.  Before we sign off, where can we find you and your books?

Website:  http://www.sarahgrimm.com

Blog:  http://www.authorsarahgrimm.blogspot.com

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/SGrimmAuthor

Twitter:  http://www.twitter.com/SGrimmAuthor

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

 
%d bloggers like this: